Name of the blog | Kon Vatskalis


Name of the blog


Description of the blog


The retiring Member for Casuarina, Kon Vatskalis, officially tendered his resignation to the Speaker of the House, Kezia Purick this morning and called on the Chief Minister, Adam Giles, to set a date for the Casuarina by-election that will ensure residents are represented in Parliament for the October sittings.


“After 13 years, today is my final day as the Member for Casuarina,” Mr Vatskalis said.


“I have officially tendered my resignation that has been accepted by the Speaker.


“There is no excuse for Adam Giles to delay setting a date for the Casuarina by-election.”


Mr Vatskalis is campaigning with the Labor Candidate for Casuarina, Lauren Moss, whom he said will be strong voice for Territorians.


Lauren Moss is a fantastic candidate who will continue the hard work Labor has put in for Casuarina residents,” Mr Vatskalis said.


“She brings with her energy, enthusiasm and passion and will speak up for Casuarina.”

Mr Vatskalis says the CLP Candidate for the seat had demonstrated his inexperience by suggesting the Territory Government had the power to regulate the price of petrol.


Mr Vatskalis said yesterday’s media stunt orchestrated by the Government had backfired on their candidate Dr Kypreos who was somehow attempting to paint himself as an anti-CLP independent candidate.


“Make no mistake Dr Kypreos is Adam Giles’ candidate in this contest,” Mr Vatskalis said.


“The NT News editorial got it right when it suggested that yesterday’s stunt by the Government was crass and arrogant.”



Media contact: Cathryn Tilmouth 0427 500 667


After a career spanning 13 years the Member for Casuarina, Kon Vatskalis, will tonight mark his final sitting day in Territory Parliament.


“After 13 years of days and nights spent in Parliament sittings, tonight will mark the end of this era for me,” Mr Vatskalis said.


“When I retire from my position on 18 September, I make way for the next generation of Territory Labor.”


Mr Vatskalis was joined by the Territory Labor Candidate for Casuarina, Lauren Moss.


“Lauren will continue my hard work for Casuarina,” Mr Vatskalis said.


“She is energetic and passionate and will be a strong voice for the residents of Casuarina that are suffering under the CLP Government’s high cost of living, cuts to education and mismanagement of the health system in the Territory.


“One issue of major concern for residents in Casuarina, and the broader public, is the CLP Government’s bungling of parking at RDH.


“The CLP Government has failed to fix the parking debacle at RDH.


“Patients, visitors and staff still have to battle to find parking spots and then navigate a confusing and flawed parking system.


“Just before the last election the former Labor Government developed a master plan to solve the parking problems at RDH.


“The master plan provided for a multistorey car park to provide hundreds more car spaces for visitors and staff.


“Two years later, the CLP have done nothing, no new spaces and in a slap to the face of Territorians, they are charging fees for the car parking chaos they have created.


“This is also creating safety issues for the neighbouring community as people are forced to park outside the hospital boundaries.


“The CLP Government needs to get on with job and install an appropriate car parking system at RDH immediately.”



Media contact: Cathryn Tilmouth 0427 500 667


Giles 2016 Election candidates Adam Giles Alcohol Alcohol Mandatory Treatment Alcohol Policy Alice Springs Allianz AMT Cash for Access Casuarina Casuarina by-election Chief Minister CLP CLP broken promises CLP chaos CLP cuts CLP failure CLP Government CLP privatisation agenda COGSO Cost of Living Crime Darwin Port Darwin Ports Dave Tollner Delia Lawrie Donations Education Education cuts environment Foundation 51 fuel prices Fyles Gerry McCarthy Giles Global School Budget Global school budgets Government Accountability Gunner health ICAC Indigenous Affairs Infrastructure Ken Vowles Labor Candidate for Casuarina Land rights Lands and planning Lauren Moss Lawrie Leader of the Opposition Leadership Lynne Walker McCarthy Member for Casuarina Member for Nhulunbuy Michael Gunner Moss Natasha Fyles Nhulunbuy Nicole Manison No Mandate No Sale NT crime statistics On Track Opposition Whip Palmerston Hospital Peter Chandler petrol prices Police Police Commissioner power prices PowerWater PowerWater Corporation Privatisation remote housing Richardson Park Robyn Lambley Scullion Senate Inquiry Shadow Attorney-General Shadow Minister for Child Protection Shadow Minister for Corrections Shadow Minister for Education Shadow Minister for Essential Services Shadow Minister for Government Accountability Shadow Minister for Health Shadow Minister for Indigenous Policy Shadow Minister for Police Territory Assets Territory Labor Leader TIO TIO Sale Tollner unacceptable behaviour Walker workers compensation Youth justice